Sports news | Rovman Powell leads West Indies squad for T20 World Cup; Shamar Joseph, Andre Russell included

Rovman Powell and Andre Russell (Photo: ICC)

Saint John’s (Antigua and Barbuda), May 3 (ANI): Two-time world champions West Indies on Friday announced their 15-player squad for the upcoming 2024 ICC T20 World Cup, which will be jointly hosted by the Caribbean and the US. .

Batsman Rovman Powell will lead the team in the global event. Notably, pace sensation Shamar Joseph, who impressed in his Test debut series against Australia earlier this year, is now set to mark his T20I debut after being picked in the T20 World Cup squad.

Also read | ICC T20 World Cup 2024 All Squads: Complete player list of all teams for the ninth edition of the Marquee tournament.

Meanwhile, the team missed the name of Kyle Mayers, who was part of the series against Australia.

Their T20I team consists of heavy hitters like Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell and Romario Shepherd who can destroy any bowling line-up on their day.

Also read | Premier League 2023-2024: title battle, Europe and relegation intertwined in dramatic weekend preview.

The two-time champions are part of Group C alongside Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Uganda and start their campaign on June 2 against Papua New Guinea in Guyana.

West Indies are the tenth team to announce their squad for the World Cup. India, New Zealand, England, Australia and South Africa are among the major teams that have announced their squads for the competition.

Akeal Hossain and Gudakesh Motie will form the spin bowling department while the pace battery will be led by vice-captain Joseph with support from Joseph.

West Indies won the T20 World Cup twice, in 2012 and 2016. Before England won their second T20 World Cup in 2022, they became the first side to win the coveted trophy twice. However, the Windies were not included in the main event of the previous Australian 20-over tournament. They were eliminated from the main stage competition and were unable to progress to the Super 12 round.

“We’ve had a very long discussion about the batting line-up situation. I want to make it very clear that our focus has always been on (on) roles – roles that we want people to play. The situation of someone like Shamar Joseph “You really can’t question someone like him, we’ve seen him in Australia. He ticked the boxes for us,” director of West Indies cricket Desmond Haynes said on the big selection calls as quoted by ICC.

“It was some very close decisions regarding the selection of Kyle Mayers and Shimron Hetmyer, but we looked at who we wanted as an extra hitter to beat the order,” he added.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be played from June 1 to 29, with co-hosts USA taking on Canada in the opening match at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas. A total of 55 matches will be played by 20 teams at 9 locations, culminating in the final on June 29 in Barbados.

Squad: Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hossain, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd. (ANI)

(This is an unedited auto-generated story from the syndicated news feed. Staff may not have edited or edited the content recently)