Co-hosts West Indies announce squad for T20 World Cup

Johnson Charles
Johnson Charles, Brandon King and Shai Hope are expected to fill the top spots

WEST Indies have announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be jointly hosted by the Caribbean countries and the USA.

Shamar Joseph, who impressed in his Test debut series against Australia earlier this year, is now set to make his T20 debut after being picked in the T20 World Cup squad.

Shimron Hetmyer is making a comeback after missing the T20I series against Australia. He did well in the ongoing IPL with the Rajasthan Royals, scoring 83 runs in four innings at a strike rate of 184.44 while playing the role of a finisher.

Kyle Mayers, who was in the squad during the Australia Series, was left out as the Windies opted for a lower-order batsman over an opener. Moreover, pacer Oshane Thomas has been left out of the selection.

Johnson Charles, Brandon King and Shai Hope are expected to fill the top spots. The Windies have a plethora of big hitters and all-rounders including Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Powell, Jason Holder, Sherfane Rutherford and Romario Shepherd, giving the team plenty of options.

Akeal Hossain and Gudakesh Motie will form the spin bowling department while the pace battery will be led by vice-captain Joseph with support from Joseph.

Squad: Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.

Director of West Indies Cricket Desmond Haynes spoke about the big selection calls.

“We had a very long discussion about the batting line-up situation,” he said. “I want to make it very clear that our focus is always on roles – roles we want people to play. The situation of someone like Shamar Joseph, you can’t really doubt someone like him, we saw him in Australia. He checked the boxes for us.

“It was some very close decisions, in terms of the selection of Kyle Mayers and Shimron Hetmyer – but we looked at who we wanted as an extra hitter to beat the order.”

The two-time champions are part of Group C alongside Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Uganda and start their campaign on June 2 against PNG in Guyana.

All teams are allowed to make changes to their roster until May 25. Thereafter, any changes will require approval from ICC’s Event Technical Committee. – via ICC